I’m a card-carrying Jedi!

Merry Christmas Eve, everyone! I am super excited to announce that yesterday I was accepted to The Rebel Legion!!

Check out that white hair!

Check out that white hair!


The RL is an international Star Wars costuming fan club, but in addition to just geeking out about SW, they also give back to the community through a variety of volunteer activities — marching in parades, visiting hospitals, raising money for charities, and the like. You may be familiar with their counterpart, the 501st Legion. The 501st does ‘bad guy’ costumes (Vader, Stormtroopers, Sith…), while the Rebel Legion does good guys (Jedi, rebels, Clone Troopers before Order 66…). And to be thorough, I should also give a shout-out to the Mandalorian Mercs, who do Mandalorian costumes (think Boba Fett).

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this here, but for the last few years I’ve felt kind of conflicted about the fact that my major hobby, cosplay, is mostly about me. I’d say 95% of the sewing I do is for myself, and conventions are largely about celebrating the things you enjoy along with your friends and fellow fans. And while hobbies are, by nature, things we do to make ourselves happy, and there’s certainly nothing wrong with that, I’ve been feeling guilty about spending all of my time and talent on myself. However, I’m not very experienced, and therefore not very comfortable, sewing clothing for other people (unless they’re actually present for repeated fittings and adjustments), so I was looking for something outreach-y I could do in my cosplays.

From what I can find online, anime cosplay isn’t very organized in this regard. There are various ‘cosplay against cancer’ (or other diseases) efforts, but most of them seem to be limited to a few individuals, or even to one individual doing a particular cosplay to raise money/awareness. There’s also Cosplay for a Cause, but let’s just say that I don’t think my chest-to-waist ratio is quite right for their needs. (Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking their efforts, but no one would pay to see my picture in a cosplay calendar.)

I’d heard about the 501st, but I’ve always been a serious sucker for the Jedi (and a little too short for a Stormtrooper), so when I learned about the Rebel Legion I knew I had to join up. I’d wanted to do a Jedi costume anyway, so this was perfect. Now that I’ve been accepted, I’ll joining the Great Lakes Base in Star Wars nerdery and charity in the Michigan/Ohio area. Can’t wait!!

3 thoughts on “I’m a card-carrying Jedi!

Leave a Reply

